Hi guys,

So the summer is almost over and I had my first day of school again. After I came home
I was pretty exhausted, because I forgot how much energy it costs to go to school and to
focus all day. Besides feeling exhausted, I was also really excited and motivated to get started again. Working on my future and getting to see my friends again made me feel really happy and it made me realize that I have to take good care of my body and keep that summer glow going. When I got home, the first thing I wanted to do was go for a run. I’m really going to try to work out (more) because I haven’t really done anything these last couple of months. Besides working out, I want to eat healthier. Summer surely wasn’t my healthiest period and now that I’m going to be busy again I really want to watch what I eat, because I think that what you put in your body is as important as what you put on it, and eating nutrient-rich foods can help you look and feel your best.

So this afternoon I walked into the kitchen and saw these jars of linseed (flaxseed) and oatmeal of my sister. For the record, my sister lives pretty healthy. She always makes fresh smoothies in the morning or a mix of superfoods with yoghurt, so I thought maybe I should start doing the same.

IMG_0741

My favorite superfood is definitely the goji berry. Besides that they taste very good, they provide you with protein, trace minerals and other nutrients and they are really good for your skin. You can either use them within you smoothie, add them to your bowl of yoghurt or even eat them as a healthy snack.

gojibes(Image source: voedingscentrum.nl)

Another superfood I can recommend is the walnut. Even though it’s not my favorite, they are full of vitamins, proteins and dietary fibre. You can use walnuts in many different ways and add them to almost everything.

IMG_0735

A superfood that you can eat and drink are chia seeds. These little seeds are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, are high in fiber and they are easy to digest. Chia seeds can added to a bowl of yoghurt or you can put them in a bottle of water and drink them. Eating or drinking them can prevent premature skin aging and they make your skin glow.

chia

(image source: fitndiets.com)

I’m definitely going to try to eat and drink more of these superfoods, because they can help me to remain that glow from the inside out! I hope you guys enjoyed this blogpost which is inspired by Nuts.com If you want to know more about healthy snacking, check out their Healthy Snacking ideas on their website.

nuts-com_summer_glow_x2_v04-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

